My true love gave to me: the holiday anthology

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWELVE HOLIDAY STORIES by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins.

You would fall in love, or not. The trouble with anthologies, that there is always a risk that you will find only a few small gems amongst hours of wasted time, which, unfortunately was exactly the case with “My true love gave to me”.

First story was – meh, the second – I didn’t even finish. The third started was much better… Unfortunately, at some points, it felt like I was reading fan fiction, rather than a collection by some of the most popular modern authors. Cute, funny, sometimes quite confusing and in a lot of cases – lacking the magic that the winter holidays may be all about.

“Polaris is where you’ll find me” by Jenny Han, “Krampuslauf” by Holly Black and  “Welcome to Christmas, CA” by Kiersten White were the only story that really caught my interest,  considering they are 3 out of 12, overall the book turned out to be a serious letdown.

Overall note: 3

My true love gave to me: the holiday anthology

2 thoughts on “My true love gave to me: the holiday anthology

    1. Oh, I would have LOVED a Krampuslauf sequel. That was real Christmas magic right there.
      About the others… well, I did not hate them as such. Aside from the “Lady and the Fox” which I just dropped. I’d give a 3* to the other stories, on average. It really is a shame I ended up so underwhelmed by the rest of them…

Leave a Reply

